Satin Peony Flowers

Standard

Scoured the www for inspiration and came up with satin flowers. Lots of bloggers/crafters have made them but I thought I’d give you my take.

I’d bought a lovely deep red satin cushion cover from the £1 shop, red on one side with a flocked flowered pattern on the other. But had no idea what I was going to do with it. Hence the www trawl!

20120101-224701.jpg

I decided to use both sides of the cover for a contrasting effect. I removed the zip and stowed it away it my ‘another time’ box and using various sized cookie cutters drew circles on the satin.

I cut each circle twice (fabric still doubled). The amount and size of the petals depends on the style of flower you want.

20120101-224812.jpg

Using a small tea light candle I melted the edges of the circles, this crisps them slightly and also curls too giving a ‘real’ petal effect.

20120101-224848.jpg
How much curl and crisp you get depends on how close and fast you turn the petals. They may catch light but a quick blow and it’s out. (maybe have a jug of water in hand just in case??)

For the large flower I took 3 petals at a time and stitched them together. Moving them slightly each time to cover gaps, again this should be done depending how you want the flower to look.
20120101-225153.jpg

The medium flower was stitched with three petals at the bottom, then two, two and one.

I finished each bloom with AB beads, how many you use is again up to you.

20120101-225327.jpg
I definitely suggest playing around with different amounts and placings of petals and beads.

20120101-225427.jpg
I apologise for the photos though

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

